Henley Symphony Orchestra 2016

Venue: The Concert Hall (Directions)

Sun 6 Nov, 16:00


Ian Brown: Conductor
Callum Smart: Violin
Nielsen: Helios Overture
Bruch: Violin Concerto
Dvorak: Symphony No 7

HSO is delighted to open its 47th season by welcoming Callum Smart as soloist in Bruch’s famous Violin Concerto, loved for its dramatic solo theme and contrasting orchestral rhythms. Callum attracted wide public attention at the age of thirteen having won the strings category of the 2010 BBC Young Musicians’ Competition. The concerto is followed by Dvorak’s most fascinating Symphony No. 7, sub-titled “From Sad Years”, and consequently sometimes dubbed “The Tragic”. The finale comes to a triumphant and radiant conclusion.  
Nielsen’s Helios Overture, composed in Athens and depicting the sun rising majestically over the Aegean Sea, completes the programme.

Tickets on sale early September.

Ticket information

£18, £14, £12

Venue info

The Concert Hall

The Concert Hall, located within the Town Hall, Blagrave Street, Reading, RG1 1QH

View on a map

Contact: 0118 960 6060

Box Office opening times: 

Monday - Saturday 10.00am - 4.00pm 
Sunday and Bank Holidays One hour before the show