Henley Symphony Orchestra 2019

Venue: The Concert Hall (Directions)

Sun 17 Nov, 16:00


On Sale 12 September.

Ian Brown, Conductor
Adrian Brendel, Cello

Von Suppe’,  Light Cavalry Overture
Dvořák, Cello Concerto
Tchaikovsky, Symphony No 4

Henley Symphony Orchestra opens its 50th anniversary season with two iconic masterpieces. Dvořák’s richly expressive Cello Concerto, written whilst he was living in New York, is imbued with a sense of longing for his Czech homeland.  Adrian Brendel is one of the most versatile and original cellists of his generation. Raised in the great central European tradition of music making, Adrian is a fitting soloist for this passionate concerto. The intensity of Tchaikovsky’s powerful but melodic Fourth Symphony, written at a time of personal turmoil, is heightened by a recurring ‘fate theme’, heard in the opening fanfare and again in the surging conclusion.

Ticket information

£20, £17, £12
50% off U16s & Students
Groups, 1 in 8 free

Venue info

The Concert Hall

The Concert Hall, located within the Town Hall, Blagrave Street, Reading, RG1 1QH

View on a map

Contact: 0118 960 6060

Box Office opening times: 

Monday - Saturday 10.00am - 4.00pm 
Sunday and Bank Holidays One hour before the show