Sherlock Holmes Books in Order – The Great Detective’s Journey

Are you fascinated by the world of Sherlock Holmes, the brilliant detective created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle? If so, you’ve come to the right place. In this comprehensive guide, we will explore the Sherlock Holmes books in the order they were written and published, providing you with the ultimate reading experience.

The Sherlock Holmes Novels

There are four novels in the Sherlock Holmes series. Here they are, listed in the order they were published:

1. A Study in Scarlet (1887)

A Study in Scarlet (1887) Sherlock Holmes

The first novel in the series, A Study in Scarlet, introduces us to the brilliant detective Sherlock Holmes and his soon-to-be-faithful companion, Dr. John Watson. This novel sets the foundation for their unbreakable partnership as they work together to solve a mysterious murder case. A Study in Scarlet is divided into two parts – the first part follows the investigation in London, while the second part takes readers to the American West, revealing the backstory of the murderer.

2. The Sign of Four (1890)

The Sign of Four (1890) Sherlock Holmes

The second novel, The Sign of Four, brings Holmes and Watson together again to solve a complex case involving a stolen treasure and a secret pact made by four convicts. This novel is notable for introducing the character of Mary Morstan, who later becomes John Watson’s wife. The Sign of Four showcases Holmes’s incredible skill in solving seemingly impossible cases and is a thrilling adventure from start to finish.

3. The Hound of the Baskervilles (1901-1902)

The Hound of the Baskervilles (1901-1902) Sherlock Holmes

Widely regarded as one of the best Sherlock Holmes stories, The Hound of the Baskervilles was initially serialized in The Strand Magazine before being published as a novel. The story follows Holmes and Watson as they investigate the mysterious death of Sir Charles Baskerville, who was found dead on the foggy moors of Dartmoor, seemingly attacked by a supernatural hound. This gripping tale of suspense, intrigue, and danger is a must-read for any Sherlock Holmes fan.

4. The Valley of Fear (1914-1915)

The Valley of Fear (1914-1915) Sherlock Holmes

The final Sherlock Holmes novel, The Valley of Fear, was also serialized in The Strand Magazine before being published in book form. This story features a complex narrative structure with two distinct parts. The first part sees Holmes solving a murder case involving a secret society, while the second part delves into the backstory of the central antagonist, taking readers to the coal-mining regions of Pennsylvania, USA. The Valley of Fear is a thrilling conclusion to the Sherlock Holmes novels.

The Short Story Collections

In addition to the four novels, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle also wrote 56 short stories featuring this famous detective. These stories are collected in five volumes:

1. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (1892)

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (1892)

The first collection of short stories, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, consists of 12 tales that were initially published in The Strand Magazine. Some of the most popular stories in this collection include “A Scandal in Bohemia,” featuring the unforgettable Irene Adler; “The Red-Headed League,” a clever tale of an ingenious bank robbery; and “The Speckled Band,” a chilling story of a murderous stepfather. These stories showcased the incredible range of Sherlock Holmes’s skills as a detective and cemented his place as a literary icon.

2. The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (1894)

The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (1894)

The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes is the second collection of short stories, containing 11 more adventures that were also published in The Strand Magazine. This volume includes “Silver Blaze,” a mystery involving a missing racehorse; “The Musgrave Ritual,” where Holmes recounts one of his early cases to Watson; and “The Final Problem,” which introduces the infamous criminal mastermind, Professor James Moriarty. “The Final Problem” was initially intended to be the last Sherlock Holmes story, but public demand for more stories eventually led to the character’s revival.

3. The Return of Sherlock Holmes (1905)

The Return of Sherlock Holmes (1905)

After a hiatus of nearly a decade, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle brought Sherlock Holmes back in The Return of Sherlock Holmes, a collection of 13 new stories. The first story, “The Adventure of the Empty House,” explains how Holmes survived his encounter with Moriarty and marks the beginning of a new era of investigations for the detective and his loyal friend Watson. Other notable stories in this collection include “The Adventure of Charles Augustus Milverton,” featuring a nefarious blackmailer, and “The Adventure of the Abbey Grange,” which sees Holmes solving a complex murder case.

4. His Last Bow (1917)

His Last Bow (1917)

His Last Bow is the fourth collection of short stories, comprising seven more adventures for Sherlock Holmes. This volume features “The Adventure of the Devil’s Foot,” where Holmes and Watson investigate a series of mysterious deaths in Cornwall, and “The Adventure of the Bruce-Partington Plans,” a tale of espionage and murder. The title story, “His Last Bow,” takes place on the eve of World War I and sees Holmes embarking on one final mission for the British government.

5. The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes (1927)

The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes (1927)

The final collection of Sherlock Holmes stories, The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes, contains 12 tales that were published between 1921 and 1927. Among these stories, you’ll find “The Adventure of the Illustrious Client,” a case involving a dangerous criminal; “The Adventure of the Sussex Vampire,” which explores the boundaries between superstition and reality; and “The Adventure of the Retired Colourman,” where Holmes solves a double murder. This collection brings the saga of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. John Watson to a close.

Final Words

Embarking on the journey through the Sherlock Holmes books in order is an adventure like no other. From the first meeting of Holmes and Watson in A Study in Scarlet to their final cases in The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes, these stories have captivated readers for generations. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s incredible gift for storytelling and his ability to create unforgettable characters has solidified the legacy of this famous detective as the world’s greatest detective.

As readers explore these tales of deduction and wit, extracting profound insights can serve as a key to success in making digital quotes that echo the timeless wisdom found within Holmes’ adventures. Click here to know how to make quotes dedicated by your inspiration.

Whether you’re a newcomer to this world or a seasoned fan, reading these books in order will provide a deeper understanding of the characters and their development throughout the series. So grab your deerstalker hat, light your pipe, and settle in for a thrilling ride through the foggy streets of Victorian London as you immerse yourself in this fantastic and thrilling world.